Local Area Links

If you are wondering about things to do while you're out here or as I like to call it, “Would you like some fries with that “... here are are some ideas for you.

First off, we have an incredible amount of internet promos on Oahu from companies like Groupon, LivingSocial and Crowdpleaser to name a few. If you sign up to be notified on those, you’ll have quite a choice of savings on everything from Restaurants to tours to activities and shows. Great deals with great acceptance and real discounts of up to 50% +.
www.groupon.com, http://www.livingsocial.com, www.crowdsavings.com

If you’re a golfer, you will find yourself in Golf heaven with a huge range of courses to choose from. We are able to place Men’s RH Standard shaft Adam’s tight lies clubs in your rooms with tons of experienced balls, gloves and T’s for $50 for your stay per set of clubs, if you don’t want to bring clubs or rent them by the day. My son takes care of that ; ) here is a good link for golf courses on Oahu and a few require military id.
http://www.gohawaii.com/oahu/experiences/golf

The Pearl Harbor National Park memorial is an incredibly well done presentation that provides an excellent perspective of the role of Pearl Harbor from the beginning to it’s current day role. It is a free tour if you get there on your own and I think it is well worth the time if you can fit it in. Get there early, as they give out “session” tickets which admit you to the film presentation and then the boat ride to the memorial above the Arizona at a certain time. The earlier you get there, the earlier the ticket for the presentation. Another well done National Park.
http://www.nps.gov/valr/index.htm

If you want to go for a car ride and explore a little, we are fairly small island and an entire loop can be done in a leisurely day with 4 to hours of actual driving time. To get started, leave the resort and head towards H-1 East. You’ll come to H-2 North and you can head toward the North Shore of the Island. Along the way, you’ll pass a fun presentation by Dole Pineapple with tours, food and shops along on the way:
http://www.dole-plantation.com

After leaving Dole, you’ll be heading toward the north shore and it’s a lovely drive with Cocoa plants as you come down toward the North Shore. If you are out here in the winter, you may be blessed with huge winter surf to. We like the Audobon Waiamea Botantical garden across from Waiamea Bay: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waimea_Bay,_Hawaii
Head on to visit the Turtle Bay resort, Historic Haleiwa, miles of small and little known beaches and fun stops along way:
http://www.gohawaii.com/oahu/guidebook/topics/beaches-of-oahu

Sharks Cove Grill is a nice place to stop for lunch ( a trailer with tables across from Sharks Cove Bay ~ After lunch, it’s a nice place to think about snorkeling, enjoy the tidepools and to ponder the universe.
http://www.gonorthshore.org/

Speaking of Sharks… if anyone wanted to, I have heard great things about the shark encounter at the north shore. This is probably a good time for me to say that I am only able to make suggestions and can’t accept any liability for any choices you make regarding any information in this article : ) That said… here is their link:
http://www.hawaiisharkencounters.com/north_shore_shark_adventure_hawaii.asp

Once you leave the Northshore, you have 2 choices. You can go back the way you came or you can continue on in a circle and head from the Northshore toward the Windward side of the Island which is a gorgeous drive and takes you toward Kaneohe and Kailua towns.
http://www.gohawaii.com/oahu/regions-neighborhoods/windward-oahu

As you leave the Kailua / Kaneohe area, you are able to head back toward Honolulu over the Pali Hiway and stop at the Pali overlook which I think you want to see. Or you can save that for another day and you can continue south toward Sea Life Park and around the southern tip of the island. http://www.sealifeparkhawaii.com

If you choose to head south and go around the southern tip, as you follow the highway around the island be heading toward Hawaii Kai, Haunama Bay http://www.hanauma-bay-hawaii.com. Honolulu & Waikiki. By about 3:30 M-F, traffic around Honolulu gets heavy by 3:30 pm and heading to Ko Olina from Honolulu will have rush hour traffic. Stay for dinner in Honolulu and then drive home after the rush.

Below are some other links for ideas and things to think about while you’re here.

Oahu Beaches

Guide to the Best Beaches of Oahu www.gohawaii.com/oahu/guidebook/topics/beaches-of-oahu

Top 10 Beaches on Oahu http://discovergarden.com/top-10-beaches-on-oahu/

Oahu Beaches; To Hawaii http://www.to-hawaii.com/oahu/beaches/

Fodor’s Travel Guide Oahu http://www.fodors.com/world/north-america/usa/hawaii/honolulu-and-oahu/

Aloha Isles- Oahu Beaches http://alohaisles.com/oahu/beaches.html

Oahu Beach Cams http://www.mybeachcams.com/hawaii/oahu/

Best Oahu Beaches http://www.aloha-hawaii.com/oahu/beaches/

Hawaii Beach Safety http://oceansafety.ancl.hawaii.edu/v/2.0/?i=oahu

 

Hawaiian Music

Live 365 http://www.live365.com/genres/hawaiian/pacific

Hawaiian Music Radio http://tunein.com/radio/Hawaiian-Music-g146/

Hawaiian Music Island www.mele.com

 

Hiking/ Trail Guide of Oahu Hikes

Hiking on Oahu- Best Hikes, Guides and Trail Maps www.everytrail.com/best/hikingoahu-hawaii

Unreal Hawaii http://www.unrealhawaii.com/hikes/

Go Hawaii: Hiking Trails http://www.gohawaii.com/oahu/guidebook/topics/hiking-on-oahu

Hawaii Hiking http://www.hawaiistateparks.org/hiking/oahu/

Na Ala Hele- Hawaii Trail System http://hawaiitrails.ehawaii.gov/island.php?island=Oahu

Best of Oahu Hiking Trails http://www.best-of-oahu.com/Oahu-Hiking-Trails.html

Hiking Oahu, Waterfalls, Lighthouse and Whale Watching http://www.hikingoahuhawaii.com/

 

Restaurants and Dining

Go Hawaii Dining Guide http://www.gohawaii.com/oahu/plan-a-trip/dining

Trip Advisor: Hawaii Restaurants http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurants-g29222-Oahu_Hawaii.html

Waikiki Restaurants http://www.restauranteur.com/hi/oahu/waikiki.htm

Fine Dining Waikiki Restaurants Urban Spoon http://www.urbanspoon.com/npr/37/3626/4/Hawaii/Waikiki/Fine-Dining.html

Oahu Restaurants Yelp http://www.yelp.com/list/favorite-restaurants-in-hawaii-oahu-honolulu-2

Ko ‘Olina Dining http://www.koolina.com/experience/dining

Kapolei Dining Trip Advisor http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurants-g60654-Kapolei_Oahu_Hawaii.html

Kapolei Dining Yelp http://www.yelp.com/c/kapolei-hi-us/restaurants

 

Entertainment

Oahu Entertainment Go Hawaii http://www.gohawaii.com/oahu/guidebook/topics/oahu-entertainment

Honolulu Zoo http://honoluluzoo.org/

Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden http://www.htbg.com/

Hawaii Opera Theater http://www.hawaiiopera.org/

Imax Theater http://www.regmovies.com/theatres/tickets-and-showtimes?loc=96817&d=Today,%20Jan%2004

Dole Plantation Worlds Largest Maze http://doleplantation.com/worlds-largest-maze

Paradise Cove Luau http://www.paradisecovehawaii.com/

Hawaii Polynesian Cultural Center http://www.polynesia.com/

Sea Life Park http://www.sealifeparkhawaii.com/

Waikiki Aquarium http://www.waquarium.org/

 

Surf Lessons

Alysa Surf School http://www.alyshasurfschool.com/

Faith Surf School http://www.faithsurfschool.com/

Girls Who Surf http://www.girlswhosurf.com/

Hawaiian Fire Surf School www.hawaiianfire.com

 

Buses, Airlines & Car Rentals

The Bus http://www.thebus.org/

Oahu Transportation Go Hawaii http://www.gohawaii.com/oahu/plan-a-trip/transportation

Public Transportation Trip Advisor http://www.tripadvisor.com/Travel-g29222-s303/Oahu:Hawaii:Public.Transportation.html

Virtual Tourist Oahu Transportation http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/North_America/United_States_of_America/Hawaii_State_of/Oahu/Transportation-Oahu-TG-C-1.html

Hawaiian Airlines http://www.hawaiianairlines.com/

Go Airlines http://www.iflygo.com/

Priceline www.priceline.com

Kayak www.kayak.com

Oahu Island Car Rentals http://www.expedia.com/Car-Rentals-In-Oahu-Island.d180077.Car-Rental-Guide

Avis Car Rental http://locations.avis.com/hi/honolulu-x28-oahu-island-x29/hnl.html

Enterprise Rent A Car http://www.enterprise.com/car_rental/deeplinkmap.do?gpbr=3616&bid=004&cnty=US

Budget Rent A Car http://www.budget.com/budgetWeb/html/rentals/hawaii-rental.html?IN=0076171C

Thrifty Car Rental http://www.thrifty.com/

Alamo Rent A Car https://www.alamo.com/en_US/car-rental/locations/destinations/us/hawaii.html

Hertz http://www.hertz.com/

HotWire http://www.hotwire.com/

 

Hawaiian Dictionary/ Words

English to Hawaiian Translation http://hawaiiandictionary.hisurf.com/

Hawaiian Dictionary http://wehewehe.org/

Hawaiian Words http://hawaiian-words.com/basics/hawaiian-dictionary/

Common Hawaiian Words http://hawaiian-words.com/basics/common/

Popular Hawaiian Words & Phrases http://www.alohafriends.com/words.html

Top 10 Hawaiian Words You Should Know on Your Hawaiian Vacation http://www.hawaiianbeachrentals.com/hawaiitravelblog/hawaii-vacation-information/top-10-hawaiian-words-you-should-know-on-your-hawaiian-vacation.html

 

Fun Near Ko’Olina

Fun Factory Arcade Center http://www.funfactorygames.com/

Podium Raceway http://podiumraceway.com/

Barbers Point Bowling Center http://www.barberspointbowling.com/

Kapolei Airsoft http://kapoleiairsoft.com/

Kapolei Paintball http://www.hawaiiextremepaintball.com/

Paintball Hawaii http://www.paintballhawaii.com/?page_id=60

Kroc Center Hawaii http://www.kroccenterhawaii.org/

iTrampoline http://www.itrampolinehawaii.com/

Ice Palace Indoor Ice Skating Rink http://www.icepalacehawaii.com/

Check out Links for Shopping in Kapolei, and Waikele Area for More Fun near Ko’Olina

 

Golfing

Go Hawaii- Golfing http://www.gohawaii.com/oahu/experiences/golf

Oahu Golf Courses http://www.golfhawaii.com/hawaii-golf/search_oahu.asp

Ko’ Olina Golf http://www.koolinagolf.com/

Tee Times Hawaii http://www.teetimeshawaii.com/

Hawaii Golf Deals http://www.hawaiigolfdeals.com/oahu.html

Hawaiian Info Guides- Golfing on Oahu http://www.hawaiiinfoguide.com/oahu_golf.htm

 

Shopping

Kapolei Shopping Center http://inkapolei.com/

Kapolei Market Place http://themarketplaceatkapolei.com/

Kapolei Commons http://www.thekapoleicommons.com/

Pearl Highlands Shopping Center http://www.pearlhighlands.com/page1.aspx

Pearlridge Shopping Center http://www.pearlridgeonline.com/

Waikele Premium Outlets http://www.premiumoutlets.com/outlets/outlet.asp?id=29

Kunia Shopping Center http://www.kuniashoppingcenter.com/http://www.kuniashoppingcenter.com/

Ala Moana Center http://www.alamoanacenter.com/

Kahala Mall http://www.kahalamallcenter.com/

Waikiki Shopping Plaza http://waikikishoppingplaza.com/

Waikiki Shopping Centers http://www.gohawaii.com/oahu/plan-a-trip/shopping/waikiki-shopping

Royal Hawaiian Center http://www.royalhawaiiancenter.com/

 

Distressed Property

Bank of America: Short Sale Informationhttp://homeloanhelp.bankofamerica.com/en/short-sale.html?cm_mmc=Cre-GeneralServicing-_-Google-PS-_-foreclosure%20vs%20short%20sale-_-Short%20Sale%20-%20Phrase%20-%20Short%20Sale%20vs%20Foreclosure

Foreclosure VS. Short Sale http://www.diffen.com/difference/Foreclosure_vs_Short_Sale

Short Saleshttp://www.realtytrac.com/foreclosure/Stop-Avoid/how-a-short-sale-can-stop-foreclosure.html

Avoiding Foreclosure U.S Department of Housing and Urban Development http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/topics/avoiding_foreclosure

IRS: Home Foreclosure and Debt Cancellation http://www.irs.gov/uac/Home-Foreclosure-and-Debt-Cancellation

Hawaii.gov Hawaii Foreclosure Information Centerhttp://cca.hawaii.gov/hfic/

Short Sale Tips and FAQhttp://www.shortsales101.com/

Certified Distressed Property Expert: What is a Short Sale? http://www.cdpe.com/what-is-a-short-sale

 

Schools

Oahu Schools- Public & Private Information http://www.adrhi.com/schools/oahu/

Hawaii Department of Education http://doe.k12.hi.us/myschool/map_oahu.htm

Hawaii Public Charter Schools http://hawaiicharterschools.com/hawaii-charter-schools?field_island_served_value=Oahu

Pre- Schools http://www.howtoliveinhawaii.com/3592/preschools-in-hawaii/

Seagull Preschools http://www.seagullschools.com/

Alphabet Land Preschool http://www.alphabetlandpreschoolhawaii.com/

 

Colleges

List of Colleges and Universities http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_colleges_and_universities_in_Hawaii

University of Hawai’i West Oahu http://westoahu.hawaii.edu/

Hawaii Pacific University http://www.hpu.edu/

Remington College http://www.remingtoncollege.edu/Campus-Locations/hawaii-colleges/

Oahu Colleges Yelp http://www.yellowpages.com/oahu-hi/colleges

Campus Explorer Oahu http://www.campusexplorer.com/colleges/in/Hawaii/

College Stats Hawaii http://collegestats.org/colleges/hawaii

 

Banking

American Savings Bank https://www.asbhawaii.com/

Bank of Hawaii https://www.boh.com/personal/

Territorial Savings Bank https://www.territorialsavings.net/

Central Pacific Bank https://www.centralpacificbank.com/

Hawaii Federal Credit Union https://www.hawaiifcu.org/

First Hawaiian Bank https://www.fhb.com/en/

Western Union  http://www.westernunion.com/Home

 

Hawaii State Government Resources
http://portal.ehawaii.gov/

City and County of Honolulu http://www.honolulu.gov/government/

Office of the Governor http://governor.hawaii.gov/

Office of Hawaiian Affiars (OHA) http://www.oha.org/

Department of Hawaiian Home Lands http://dhhl.hawaii.gov/

Department of Health (DOH) http://health.hawaii.gov/

Department of Human Resources Development (DHRD) http://dhrd.hawaii.gov/

Department of Public Safety (DPS) http://dps.hawaii.gov/

Department of Land & Natural Resources (DLNR) http://dlnr.hawaii.gov/

Department of Transportation http://hidot.hawaii.gov/

Department of Business Economic Development & Tourism (DBEDT) http://dbedt.hawaii.gov/

Hawaii State Public Library http://hawaii.sdp.sirsi.net/custom/web/

State Foundation of Cultural and the Arts http://www.state.hi.us/sfca/

Office of Elections http://hawaii.gov/elections/

Department of the Attorney General http://ag.hawaii.gov/

Department of Taxation http://www.state.hi.us/tax/tax.html

Department of Defense http://hawaii.gov/dcca/ocp/